Crested Butte Colorado/Reviews
on August 31, 2015
This is a “must have” book if you will be in Gunnison County and hiking. It combines everything you thought you could ever find on the internet (which you never can when you really try) into a single book which has guided our hikes this summer like no other. We’ve been visiting Gunnison-Almont-Crested Butte for over 30 years and finally we have a resource which is meaningful. You don’t want to hike a trail which is frequented by jacked-assed ATV’s or mountain bike riders (also jacked-asses).. this book will help you steer clear of that. Such a wonderful compilation of trail reviews. I hope it comes out in an EBook soon, because our paper copy will wear thin by the end of next summer.
on August 3, 2015
I am so excited to own this book. I have many hiking guides for both California and Colorado but this one has become my favorite. Beautifully photographed and marvelously organized, this is the gold standard for day hiking discovery. I can’t wait to hit the trails and I sincerely thank the authors for their attention to detail and willingness to share their impressive knowledge.
on May 7, 2015
Great Book.
I got it to update my older edition.
Spot on with the trails, advice and directions.My only worry is that the world discovers Crested Butte and it gets crowded!!!Hiking in heaven for sure.
on August 27, 2014
One of my favorite places to be! And now I have a book that helps me explore it a little deeper!
on July 30, 2014
This book added so much to our trip to the Crested Butte area! The number of hikes available is so large that it really helped to have this book to help narrow it down to the best ones for us. It’s incredibly detailed, and has each hike outlined in many different ways- verbal descriptions, pictures, topo maps, difficulty graphs, etc. We found the directions and descriptions to be spot on. All in all, an invaluable partner to take along as a guide!
on July 28, 2014
This is the book to buy if you’re headed to CB, great maps, details and directions.
on June 18, 2014
This is one of the best hiking books I’ve seen. The combination of maps and detailed descriptions make it easy to select and follow the routes. It’s complete down to suggesting footwear and what sort of vehicle you’ll need to reach the trailheads. The book provides GPS waypoints for all key locations. Highly recommended.
on September 4, 2013
This book is a must for anyone headed to Crested Butte with an intention to go hiking. You’ll find well traveled hikes in here as well as hidden gems. The attention to detail by the authors will be appreciated by anyone accustomed who has ever searched for a trailhead, a stunning vista, or just the perfect jaunt. I wish the Poe’s would write a hiking book for all areas of Colorado!
on August 5, 2013
I recently purchases this guidebook by Anne & Mike Poe as well as their Utah Parks guidebook. I just did my first hike using this book and the books information was precise, helpful, and easy to understand. From the directions to get to the trailhead to the suggestions for short trips to overlooks along the way, it was an invaluable tool. For novices looking to explore a new area, or for seasoned hikers looking to expand their hikes, this is the book you want to have. Thoughtfully laid out, I particularly like the way it breaks down the hikes into geographical areas with a map showing all of the trails in that area. A funny thing happened as I was doing this hike was that I ran into a family on this hike who were walking along with their copy of this book in their hand as they went. I will be doing much more hiking in these areas because of this book. Great guidebook!
on August 24, 2012
I am someone who likes to hike, but I am also a mom with two young children – and I like to hike with them. I loved using this book on a recent trip to Crested Butte, because unlike so many other hiking books, this one had enough detail for me to determine whether or not the hike would be appropriate for my family. The photography is stunning, and the detailed descriptions, maps and charts for each hike will ensure you will never be lost. I love how they ranked each hike based on difficulty, as well as star value (scenic or not). And there are so many hikes to choose from – enough variety and options for all levels of hikers. I will be making several return visits to Crested Butte (with and without my children), and this will be the only hiking book I will need. Anne and Mike really put a lot of effort into creating the highest quality hiking book, made for hikers by hikers.
Ouray, Silverton & Lake City Colorado/Reviews
Book Reviews-Ouray, Silverton & Lake City-cover

Ouray, Silverton & Lake City-cover

5.0 out of 5 stars Seeing Clearly: Here’s the Best Backpacking Guide I Have Ever Used

ByBill Draytonon November 14, 2015

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase

This is a very different guide. It is the best I have ever found. It provides accurate, intelligent, wonderfully clearly presented previews and also practical when-you-are-there advice and guidance. Its combination of photos of the terrain and clear superimposed best route lines of advance makes off trail backpacking much easier.
I go for three weeks of backpacking every September and hike for shorter periods through the year. I have probably red 100 hiking guide books. There is nothing that compares to this wonderful contribution.

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars

ByGreen Jeanson November 5, 2015

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase

easy to use. very helpful!

5.0 out of 5 stars and this guide book was a wonderful aid. The hikes in the book are well …

ByNoahon October 22, 2015

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase

This is the second book I have purchased from the Author. This is an exceptional guide book. I spent a week hiking in the San Juan National Forest in September, and this guide book was a wonderful aid. The hikes in the book are well documented with pictures, mileages, GPS coordinates, and even elevation profiles. I recommend this book to the novice hiker and the expert alike. Another quality product from Anne Poe. I highly recommend this book.

4.0 out of 5 stars Nearly Perfect but with Shortcomings

ByMartin Wiesiolek on August 29, 2015

Format: Paperback

I use this book a lot as a reference when planning day hikes and multiday backpacking trips. The trail descriptions are accurate and the hike descriptions are logical and easy to read.

It would’ve been a five-star book if it wasn’t for the following shortcomings:

1. Star rating. Most people are used to seeing star outlines (not filled with solid color) as zero rating. It takes a few minutes (and reading an essay-style introduction) to figure out that the authors use just the *number* of stars to rate the hike. It would’ve been clearer to always show the outline of six stars and then use a solid black color to fill the stars to show the rating.

2. Use of color to convey important information. Only color is used to represent the difficulty rating of each trail thus rendering this guide almost useless as a quick reference for people with visual impairments or in low-light conditions. Ski area symbols of difficulty (green circle, blue square, black diamonds) would’ve made this book accessible for everyone.

3. No index. The lack of index strips this book of critical functionality, such as being a fast reference for places you’ve heard of and wanted to explore. You have to browse through four pages of “All Hikes Chart” to find what you’re looking for but that alone may not list the places that a hike might be taking you through. Every time I pick this book up and flip to the back looking for index, I am reminded that this basic feature of most reference books isn’t there.

5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful photos! This is THE hiking guide for SW …

ByFickle Cat on July 29, 2015

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase

very thorough guide with a lot of trails covered. Beautiful photos! This is THE hiking guide for SW Colorado in my opinion.

5.0 out of 5 stars Best Ever!

ByNicholas Recuber on March 10, 2015

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase

This about is the best hiking guidebook I’ve ever bought. My girlfriend and I bought this book leading up to our vacation to Ouray, and it honestly made the trip. Everyday we planned out what we would do and what roads we would take based on this book. It has great maps, and lets you know what type of car you would need for each hike. I can’t recommend it enough. We bought a few other guide books that we didn’t even end up bringing with us because this one was so good. Anyway this year we are planning our Crested Butte trip based on their guidebook for that area.

5.0 out of 5 stars great attention to details, will lead to jaw-droppingly beautiful hikes

B yKim on September 22, 2014

Format: Paperback

The authors write the best hiking guides I’ve ever read. I love the glossy pages and the beautiful color photographs. Since the book is meant for day hikers, the weight of the book is totally acceptable for carrying. The hikes summary make it easy to choose a trail from many. Everything was helpful – the rating system, maps, really everything. I appreciate the authors are great with logistics – how to get to trailhead & what kind of parking to expect when you get there. I have no complaints and think this is a great buy.

5.0 out of 5 stars Detailed and colorful

By Art Chik on August 15, 2014

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase

We used this book during a trip to Ouray, Ridgway, and Silverton Colorado in July, 2014. Lots of good data to help us choose hikes. Great photographs, detailed descriptions of trails. It covered a few different hikes from Kelvin Kent’s Ouray Hiking Guide. Interesting double rating system: one rating for the “approach” part of the hike, and another for the “destination” part. As with most hiking guides, “moderate” to them means “pretty darn hard” to me. With this book and Kent’s book, I felt we had a pretty complete guide to the area’s trails. An expensive book, but I thought it was well worth it.

5.0 out of 5 stars TOP QUALITY HIKING BOOK

By B. King on April 23, 2014

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase

The Poes have written several Colorado hiking guides. They are all great. A major improvement in this one is less clutter on the maps. Attention to detal is so important in a guide and they continue to do this. Novice or experienced hikers should have this book.

5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent hiking guide, August 3, 2012

This review is from: Southwest Colorado: High Country Day Hikes (Paperback)
I am the Library Director in Silverton, Colorado. I am also an avid hiker. This book is one of the best I have ever seen on this area. Many of my patrons check it out and then end up purchasing their own copy. This is a must have for anyone who enjoys hiking in the San Juans. Thank you so much to the wonderful authors.

5.0 out of 5 stars EKM, December 8, 2012

This review is from: Southwest Colorado: High Country Day Hikes (Paperback)
I didn’t think the authors could top their Crested Butte guide, but with this one on high-country hiking in Southwest Colorado, they have succeeded in doing so. The pictures are even more brilliant, and the color-coded charts even more effective and helpful, if that’s possible. Organizing the book around the “All Hikes” chart at the beginning is especially useful, as is the basic information on how to make the best use of the guide. The maps, as before, are exquisite. It is clear throughout the guide that Anne and Mike Poe have put themselves into the minds — and passions — of hikers who have experienced or want to experience hikes above the timberline. For those who have little time to waste and want to get the most out of their hiking experience in southwest Colorado, this manual is a must. What an incredible amount of thought and effort has gone into producing this beautiful and useful book. I can’t imagine a more effective guide.

4.0 out of 5 stars great guide!, November 14, 2012

Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: Southwest Colorado: High Country Day Hikes (Paperback)
Ordered this book for my in-laws who just moved to CO. It is great for them because it is well illustrated and they are easily able to pick a hike and determine which will be best for any given day. I wish it had more hikes, but what was in it was very well done.

5.0 out of 5 stars The BEST Guide Book EVER! 🙂, August 4, 2012

Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: Southwest Colorado: High Country Day Hikes (Paperback)
This is absolutely the most detailed & useful guidebook I have ever seen! The “All Hikes Chart” in the front of the book is brilliant- it is any easy to read chart by area to let you know if the route is a round trip, shuttle or loop, has a color coded rating of the difficulty, gives a star value for scenery, lists mileage, elevation gain, what type of vehicle is needed to make it to the trail head and what could be on the trail- bicycles, horses, flowers and/ or aspens. Why has no one thought of this before????
The color pictures detailing every hike are stunning. Hike descriptions include GPS coordinates and an easy to read color coded map showing elevation gain on the trail. Anyone going to southwest CO to hike absolutely must purchase this book- it truly is the best guide book I have ever seen. It makes picking the right hike so easy. This book also has a few trails for Crested Butte but I also recommend purchasing their newest Book- Crested Butte Colorado: 65 Scenic Day Hikes if planning to spend a few days in CB which who wouldn’t want to do that!
Anne & Mike- thank you for sharing your passion and helping others discover the beautiful hikes in southwest Colorado! Happy trails!

5.0 out of 5 stars Southwestern Colorado Hikes, July 23, 2012

Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: Southwest Colorado: High Country Day Hikes (Paperback)
The authors have done a great job in providing and describing some of the best hikes in the region. Since I live in the region, the book has been a great help in planning our hiking activity. Each hike is accurately described with clear directions. The authors have done a good job with elevation changes and trail difficulty. I think this is very helpful to visitors to the region who may not familiar with the challanges of hiking in this terrain. Overall, this book is excellent and readers won’t be disappointed.

5.0 out of 5 stars An incredible hiking guide!, June 28, 2012

This review is from: Southwest Colorado: High Country Day Hikes (Paperback)
What a beautiful guide book. Fabulous color photos and incredible maps that are easy to follow are features I have not seen in other books. I love the hikes chart. It lists all the hikes with important details which makes it really easy to choose a hike I like without having to read through the entire book. What a time saver! And the trails are awesome. Our hiking vacation to southwest Colorado would not have been the same without it!

Facebook comment on new edition SW Colorado High Country Day Hikes: Ouray, Silverton, Lake City.  “looking forward to trying out more hikes that the two of you documented. You are on target with trail heads, coordinates, distance and view recommendations!

 

Telluride Colorado/Reviews
on January 6, 2015
This guidebook was all I needed for my seven day hiking trip to Telluride. Used Telluride as a base and did day hikes from there. Highly recommend the book. Great trail descriptions, just the right amount of photos, directions to trailhead were spot on. I have a shelf-full of hiking books and this one compares favorably to the best of them.
on September 22, 2014
This book is good for both someone who will be in Telluride for a while and also a quick visitor to get the most of out of your time in the area. I enjoyed this book and also the other one by authors covering Ouray, Silverton, and Lake City. For the amount of useful information you get, the book is a bargain.
on June 29, 2013
This is my 3rd guidebook from Take A Hike and Telluride is just as wonderful as the Crested Butte and Southwest Colorado Guidebooks!Anne & Mike do such a good job with stunning, color photos so you know what you will see on your hike, easy to read detailed maps with GPS coordinates, clear directions and how long it takes to get to trail head and what kind of vehicle you need. The chart in the front gives a quick overview of level of difficulty (color coded to show easy to strenuous), star value (which hikes are most scenic), miles, elevation gain, if there are Aspens, flowers and bikes on the trail and elevation gain. They have thought of everything! There are also hikes that you won’t find anywhere else. Truly the most comprehensive guidebook I have ever seen. You must buy this book if you are hiking anywhere in Telluride! Happy trails!
on June 24, 2013
This hiking guide is just what I’ve been looking for since moving to Telluride six years ago. The authors really put so much of themselves in this book, and it shows. They hiked all of the trails and included GPS coordinates, excellent maps showing the contour lines, difficulty rating, and a star rating system if you want to quickly find a hike with the best view rating. Plus a nice bonus is all of the photos are in color. Many of the trails in the Telluride area are joined together, and the authors did a wonderful job of giving the different options available according to what you have time to hike. I recommend this guide to be in your backpack right away!
Arches & Canyonlands/Review
Arches & Canyonlands Utah

Arches & Canyonlands Utah

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars

on December 5, 2015
Love this book!! Love Arches and Canyonlands. This book was very informative!
on November 17, 2015
Very well organized and presented.
on October 19, 2015
Good useful info on hikes in Arches. Elevation, length of time, distance & level of difficulty were all useful pieces of information in planning our hikes. We hiked 4 days in Arches & used this guide every day!!
on September 22, 2015
A not very interesting book on hiking the Arches-Canyolands National Parks. Books by Kathy and Craig Copeland and by J. David Day are much better.
on July 2, 2015
everything you need to hike moab for weeks
on March 22, 2015
Great book great pictures- all kinds of information that will be great when I go to both these national parks
on March 7, 2015
Really enjoyed this book. Went to Arches National Park in late Feb. 2015. This book provided good information about each hike. I really liked the pictures included in the book. Arranged to coincide with driving the road in Arches.
on February 4, 2015
When on holiday, we do a good amount of walking, and consequently must have good pathfinder book. This is well written, with graded walks that will be suitable for a majority of fitness levels. Routes are very clearly set out and give maps.
on October 18, 2014
The best trail guide I have ever seen. Too bad they don’t write books for trails everywhere.
on October 9, 2014
Great descriptions. We relied on this heavily
On Our Own/Review
Book Reviews-On-Our-Own-cover

On-Our-Own-cover

on February 10, 2014
A thoughtful, colorful book on bicycle travel. I find her experiences on 2 wheel travel, especially through lovely Bali, to mirror my own. I appreciate that her rides through Hill and Dale are not effortless. I love bicycle touring, but for me it is work, even at distances of less than 70 km a day. I found and read this book because I am planning a trip to Vietnam this spring. I will update my impressions after I come back. For now let’s say that her descriptions of bicycle touring on a budget without a guided tour are accurate, and helpful. It is not glamorous, but satisfying, compelling, and oh so much cheaper. You learn a lot more about the people, and thrill with the discovery of the hidden gem of a tucked away restaurant and inn. I do have to say that now we have the advantage of Trip Advisor, Google Maps, and phone GPS’s, which I think will make these type of experiences easier and more successful. I also ask others to continue to formally report their experiences. You smooth out the bumps for those of us who follow.
on April 30, 2011
“On Our Own” is beautifully written with vivid descriptions, clever use of metaphors and laced with photos mesmerizing me into believing I was actually there taking in the sights and sounds of Southeast Asia.
What an adventure! Thank you, Anne Poe for allowing me to live this extraordinary experience of the arduous 8000 mile trip without my having to shed a single drop of perspiration or having to endure the multitude of personal discomforts of the third world.
This book was difficult to put down and was definitely a learning experience.

Copyright Material

All rights reserved. No part of this page may be reproduced or utilized in any form by any means, electronic or mechanical, including downloading, print screen, photocopying, recording, or by any information storage or retrieval system, without the prior written permission by the copyright owner.